The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) has put online a searcheable database of decisions from its Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy (UDRP). Try searching for some (in)famous marks, such as “walmart.”
They’ve also drafted an overview of the UDRP decisions. This overview highlights key questions faced by the UDRP panels. According them:
This overview is created in recognition of the need that has been expressed to identify, as much as possible, consensus among UDRP decisions, so as to maximize the consistency of the UDRP system.
It should also serve as a handy guide to researchers who would be interested in the consensus outcomes of the UDRP. For example, researchers would be interested in knowing that:
Evidence of offers to sell the domain name in settlement discussions is admissible under the UDRP, and is often used to show bad faith. This is because many cybersquatters often wait until a trademark owner launches a complaint before asking for payment and because panels are competent to decide whether settlement discussions represent a good faith effort to compromise or a bad faith effort to extort.
UPDATE ERROR.However, in American Law, under the Federal Rule of Evidence no. 408, evidence of conduct or statements made in compromise negotiations is not admissible.)
Under the Anti-Cybersquatting and Consumer Protection Act, these sorts of statements are permitted into evidence.
Another interesting feature is the ability to search by domain name. Searching for “walmart” brought me this interesting case: Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. v. Walsucks and Walmarket Puerto Rico:
Respondent has appended the term “-sucks” to domain names that are, in the absence of that term, confusingly similar to Complainant’s mark. The addition of the pejorative verb “sucks” is tantamount to creating the phrase “Wal-Mart Canada sucks” (and comparable phrases with Respondent’s other “-sucks” formative domain names)
…
In the present case, two factors . . . compel a determination that Respondent’s disputed domain names are confusingly similar to Complainant’s mark – that is, that there is a likelihood of confusion on the part of Internet users.
…
Internet users with search engine results listing Respondent’s domains are likely to be puzzled or surprised by the coupling of Complainant’s mark with the pejorative verb “sucks”. Such users, including potential customers of Complainant, are not likely to conclude that Complainant is the sponsor of the identified websites. However, it is likely (given the relative ease by which websites can be entered) that such users will choose to visit the sites, if only to satisfy their curiosity. Respondent will have accomplished his objective of diverting potential customers of Complainant to his websites by the use of domain names that are similar to Complainant’s trademark.
How they can be confusingly similar, when “users are not likely to conclude that [Walmart] is the sponsor,” I don’t know.
In the end though, it was determined that the registration was in bad faith, and it looks like with good reason.
Respondent’s claim to a “freedom of expression” interest in establishing the “walmartcanadasucks.com” and “walmartuksucks.com” websites is contradicted by his own words. A demand for payment from the potential and actual subject of critical sites is fundamentally inconsistent with the right of free expression. It is as if a newspaper were to approach the potential subject of an adverse investigative report to propose that for an appropriate fee the report could be avoided. This would not be characterized as “free speech” activity. It would rather be characterized as “extortion”.
But think of the poor, puzzled, Walmart shopper attracted to walmartsucks.com!